Benchmark Email's Send Limit Is a Formula, Not a Number — 10× Your Contact Count

By Published: August 11, 2026Updated: August 11, 2026

How this review was built. Pricing, tiers and limits come from the vendor's own pricing page and documentation as of the date above — and where a figure is the vendor's claim, we say so rather than repeat it as fact. Some links on this page are affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, which is why the drawbacks are printed in full on this page rather than left for you to find later. About the rating. It is our own editorial judgement on a 1–5 scale — not the output of a formula, and not the result of hands-on testing. Treat it as one publication's opinion and read the drawbacks, which are the useful part. See our full methodology & disclosure →

Benchmark Email's Send Limit Is a Formula, Not a Number — 10× Your Contact Count — honest review
3.3/5
Visit Site →

Verdict: Free gives 500 contacts, 2,500 sends a month and one user who cannot invite anyone. Pro starts at $27 and its send limit is stated as 10× your contact limit — so the number that matters changes every time your list grows. Extra users are $15 each, up to ten.

Pros

  • The free plan is permanent, with 500 contacts and 2,500 monthly sends
  • Pro's send allowance scales automatically at 10× the contact tier
  • Annual billing is stated as $60 off the Pro plan each year
  • Editor, contact management, forms and reporting are on every tier including free

Cons

  • The free plan allows 1 user max and cannot invite additional users
  • Pro includes only 1 user; each extra is $15/month, capped at 10
  • 10× contacts is a tight ratio for anyone emailing weekly
  • Enterprise pricing requires contacting sales

The send limit is defined as a multiple

Most email tools publish a send cap as a fixed number. Benchmark publishes a formula:

Monthly send limit: 10x contact limit

So the allowance moves with your list. At 2,500 contacts it is 25,000 sends; at 100,000 contacts it is a million.

Ten times sounds generous until you divide it by a month. Ten sends per contact per month is roughly two emails a week per subscriber — comfortable for a monthly newsletter, tight for anyone running a weekly send plus an automated welcome sequence plus a re-engagement flow.

Do that arithmetic against your actual calendar rather than against the multiplier, because the multiplier is designed to look large and the calendar is what consumes it.

Free is real, and it has one user

FreePro
Price$0/mofrom $27/mo
ContactsUp to 5002,500 – 100,000
Monthly sends2,50010× contacts
Users1 user max1 included
Extra userscannot invite$15/mo each, max 10
Domainsnot stated10 max

Note that the free plan's send allowance is 5× its contact limit, not 10×. The ratio improves when you pay.

The sharper limit is the user one. Free is explicit that it is 1 user max and that you cannot invite additional users — not a soft cap you bump into, a stated impossibility. For a solo operator that is fine. For anyone who wants a colleague to proofread before sending, the free plan cannot do it at any list size.

Extra users are $15, and capped at ten

Pro includes one user. Each additional is $15/month, to a maximum of ten.

That is a real cost for a small marketing team:

TeamExtra usersAdded per month
2 people1$15
3 people2$30
5 people4$60

A five-person team on the entry Pro tier is $27 + $60 = $87/month — more than triple the headline. And the ten-user ceiling is a genuine limit rather than a pricing step: at eleven people, this product does not fit, and the page offers Enterprise and a sales conversation instead.

Annual billing saves a stated $60

The page states switching to annual saves $60 off the Pro plan each year.

Against $27/month ($324/year), that is roughly 18.5%, bringing the effective rate to about $22/month. It is a flat figure rather than a percentage, which means the saving is proportionally largest at the cheapest contact tier and shrinks in significance as your list — and therefore your bill — grows.

Small, clearly stated, and worth taking if you are staying a year.

What is included everywhere, and what that implies

Benchmark states that the email editor, contact management, sign-up forms and reporting are included in all tiers, free included.

That is the right way round: the things you need in order to send at all are not gated. What the tiers sell is capacity — contacts, sends and seats — rather than access to features.

It also means upgrading will not unlock a capability you are missing. If the editor cannot do what you want at $0, it will not do it at $27 either. Test the builder on the free plan against a real campaign before paying, because the paid tiers buy you more of the same, not something different.

A previous version of this review said the tool "lacks modern features." That was vague and unsourced, and has been removed — a feature comparison requires naming the features and checking each against the vendor's current page. What can be stated from the pricing page is the capacity ladder above.

Who should not buy this

If you need more than ten people in the account, the published plan caps out and you are into Enterprise and a sales call.

If your sending pattern is bursty — a big launch sequence, then quiet — the 10× monthly formula may not suit you, because unused allowance in a quiet month does not help you in a busy one. The page does not state whether unused sends roll over. Ask before committing.

The honest summary

The free tier is genuine and permanent at 500 contacts, and the all-tiers feature inclusion is honest design — you are buying capacity, not unlocking gates.

Read the multiplier and the seat prices. 10× contacts is about two emails per subscriber per week; free cannot add a second user at all; and a five-person team on entry Pro is $87/month, not $27.

The free plan's $0 price, 500 contacts, 2,500 monthly sends, "1 user max" and inability to invite users; Pro's $27 starting price, 2,500–100,000 contact range, "10x contact limit" send formula, 1 included user, $15/month per additional user to a maximum of ten, and 10-domain limit; the stated $60 annual saving; and the all-tier inclusion of editor, contact management, forms and reporting are from Benchmark Email's own pricing page, checked 11 August 2026.

Sponsored · affiliate link

A different approach: Bonfire Terminal

Benchmark Email runs in the vendor's cloud — your data is processed on their servers, and you pay every month for as long as you use it. Bonfire Terminal is a different kind of tool: an AI agent that runs as a desktop app on your own machine. No cloud, no API credits, and nothing you type leaves your computer.

To be straight with you: it is not a drop-in replacement for Benchmark Email, and we are not going to pretend it is — they do different jobs. It is worth a look if the cloud-subscription model itself is what you want out of, or if you want an AI agent that works privately and offline. If Benchmark Email is doing its job for you, keep it.

FeatureBenchmark EmailBonfire Terminal
What it isCloud email-marketing SaaSLocal AI desktop agent (Rust), bundled with affiliate-marketing training
Where it runsVendor’s cloud — your data is processed on their serversOn your own machine — no cloud, no API credits, no data leaves your computer
What you paySee the vendor’s own pricing page$27 entry (AI Marketers Club) — includes 21-day Bonfire Terminal access
GuaranteeSee the vendor’s own terms60-day money-back guarantee
See what Bonfire Terminal is

The way in is the AI Marketers Club — $27 one-time, which includes 21 days of Bonfire Terminal access. Keeping it after that is a separate purchase, and the vendor's FAQ states Bonfire Terminal starts at $5,000. We earn a commission if you join, at no extra cost to you — which is exactly why our criticisms of Benchmark Email are printed in full above, why we have told you what this is not, and why the $5,000 is in this sentence rather than left for you to discover later.