Metricool's Tier Name Doesn't Set the Price — Your Brand Count Does
How this review was built. Pricing, tiers and limits come from the vendor's own pricing page and documentation as of the date above — and where a figure is the vendor's claim, we say so rather than repeat it as fact. Some links on this page are affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, which is why the drawbacks are printed in full on this page rather than left for you to find later. About the rating. It is our own editorial judgement on a 1–5 scale — not the output of a formula, and not the result of hands-on testing. Treat it as one publication's opinion and read the drawbacks, which are the useful part. See our full methodology & disclosure →

Starting at $20/month
Verdict: Starter is $20/month for 5 brands or $36 for 10. Advanced is $53 for 15, $85 for 25, $159 for 50. The plan name only sets the feature band — the price inside it slides with how many brands you connect, which is why quoted 'Metricool costs $20' figures rarely match anyone's bill.
Pros
- ✓The free plan manages 1 brand permanently, with 5 competitor profiles tracked
- ✓Starter at $20/month covers 5 brands — genuinely cheap per brand
- ✓Competitor tracking jumps to 100 profiles on paid tiers
- ✓The full brand-count price ladder is published, not quoted on request
Cons
- ✗Every plan has multiple prices, so a single headline figure is misleading
- ✗The free plan caps at 20 scheduled posts a month
- ✗Free analytics history is 30 days, which is too short to see a trend
- ✗Users included per plan are not stated anywhere on the pricing page
There is no single Metricool price
Most pricing pages have one number per tier. This one has a slider, and the tier name is only half the answer.
| Plan | Brands | Price/month |
|---|---|---|
| Free | 1 | $0 |
| Starter | 5 | $20 |
| Starter | 10 | $36 |
| Advanced | 15 | $53 |
| Advanced | 25 | $85 |
| Advanced | 50 | $159 |
So "Starter" is not $20 — it is $20 or $36. "Advanced" is $53, $85 or $159. The plan you pick sets the feature band; the brand count sets the bill.
This is why quoted prices for this tool disagree with each other and with your invoice. Any comparison saying "Metricool starts at $20" is quoting the cheapest row of a six-row table.
Per brand, it is very cheap — and that is the real story
Run the division:
- Starter, 5 brands: $4.00 per brand
- Starter, 10 brands: $3.60
- Advanced, 15 brands: $3.53
- Advanced, 25 brands: $3.40
- Advanced, 50 brands: $3.18
That curve is remarkably flat and remarkably low. For an agency, $3.18 per brand per month at 50 brands is aggressive pricing for scheduling plus analytics plus competitor tracking, and it is the honest reason this tool keeps appearing in agency stacks.
The flatness matters too: there is no punitive jump where the vendor knows you are locked in. You pay roughly the same per brand at 5 as at 50, which is unusual and worth crediting.
The free plan is a real plan with one real limit
Metricool's free tier states:
- Manage 1 brand
- Schedule up to 20 posts per month
- Analyze 5 competitor profiles
- Access 30 days of analytics
Twenty posts a month is roughly five a week — enough to run one brand at a steady cadence, and genuinely usable rather than a demo.
The limit that actually bites is 30 days of analytics. Social performance is a trend question: is this working better than last quarter, did that format change anything, when did engagement start sliding. Thirty days cannot answer any of those. You get a snapshot and no direction, which is the one thing analytics is for.
If you are on free and wondering whether to pay, that is the line to test yourself against — not the post count.
Competitor tracking is the upgrade nobody mentions
Free tracks 5 competitor profiles. Paid tiers track up to 100.
That is a twentyfold increase and it changes what the tool is for. Five competitors is spot-checking. A hundred is category surveillance — enough to see what an entire vertical is posting, which formats are gaining, and which accounts are actually growing rather than merely large.
For an agency pitching new business, that data is arguably worth more than the scheduling. It is the strongest argument for the paid tiers and it is buried under the brand-count slider on the pricing page.
Two numbers to get in writing
Users per plan are not stated — not on Free, Starter, Advanced or Custom. For a tool an agency team shares, how many people can log in is not a detail, and its absence is the biggest gap on the page.
The monthly-versus-annual presentation is contradictory as published. The page states annual billing saves up to 24%, while the annual column shows a higher per-month figure than the monthly column. Both cannot be true, and rather than guess which way round it is, check the billing toggle yourself at checkout. Every per-brand figure above is taken from the ladder as listed; the direction of the annual discount is not something this page settles.
Who should not buy this
If you run one brand and post a few times a week, the free plan covers you and the correct spend is zero until the 30-day analytics window starts costing you decisions.
If you want a tool that tells you what to post, this is not that. It schedules, measures and watches competitors — it is an instrument panel, and an instrument panel does not fly the plane.
The honest summary
Priced per brand, this is among the cheapest serious options in the category, and the ladder is published in full rather than hidden behind a call. At $3-something per brand it is easy to justify for an agency.
Just do not trust any single quoted price, including a $20 one. Count your brands, read across to your row, confirm how many users the plan allows, and check the annual toggle at checkout — because the page as published contradicts itself on that one point.
The free-plan limits (1 brand, 20 posts/month, 5 competitor profiles, 30 days of analytics), the Starter and Advanced brand-count price ladders in USD, and the up-to-100 competitor tracking on paid tiers are from Metricool's own pricing page, checked 11 August 2026. Users per plan are not stated on that page, and the monthly/annual figures as presented conflict with the stated saving.
A different approach: Bonfire Terminal
Metricool runs in the vendor's cloud — your data is processed on their servers, and you pay every month for as long as you use it. Bonfire Terminal is a different kind of tool: an AI agent that runs as a desktop app on your own machine. No cloud, no API credits, and nothing you type leaves your computer.
To be straight with you: it is not a drop-in replacement for Metricool, and we are not going to pretend it is — they do different jobs. It is worth a look if the cloud-subscription model itself is what you want out of, or if you want an AI agent that works privately and offline. If Metricool is doing its job for you, keep it.
| Feature | Metricool | Bonfire Terminal |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Cloud social-media SaaS | Local AI desktop agent (Rust), bundled with affiliate-marketing training |
| Where it runs | Vendor’s cloud — your data is processed on their servers | On your own machine — no cloud, no API credits, no data leaves your computer |
| What you pay | From $20/month | $27 entry (AI Marketers Club) — includes 21-day Bonfire Terminal access |
| Guarantee | See the vendor’s own terms | 60-day money-back guarantee |
The way in is the AI Marketers Club — $27 one-time, which includes 21 days of Bonfire Terminal access. Keeping it after that is a separate purchase, and the vendor's FAQ states Bonfire Terminal starts at $5,000. We earn a commission if you join, at no extra cost to you — which is exactly why our criticisms of Metricool are printed in full above, why we have told you what this is not, and why the $5,000 is in this sentence rather than left for you to discover later.
More Social Media & Analytics reviews:
- SocialBee Charges Per Social Profile — One Brand Is Usually Five or Six of Them →
- Buffer Charges Per Channel, So Count Your Channels Before You Compare Prices →
- Agorapulse Review →
- Brandwatch Review →
- CoSchedule Review →
- Emplifi Review →