Smartlead's 'Unlimited' Plans Cap Your Sends — Unlimited Is the Contacts, Not the Emails
How this review was built. Pricing, tiers and limits come from the vendor's own pricing page and documentation as of the date above — and where a figure is the vendor's claim, we say so rather than repeat it as fact. Some links on this page are affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, which is why the drawbacks are printed in full on this page rather than left for you to find later. About the rating. It is our own editorial judgement on a 1–5 scale — not the output of a formula, and not the result of hands-on testing. Treat it as one publication's opinion and read the drawbacks, which are the useful part. See our full methodology & disclosure →

Starting at $39/month
Verdict: Two of the four plans are named Unlimited. What is unlimited on them is the contact count — the email sends are capped at 150,000 and 500,000 a month respectively. For cold outreach, sends are the resource you actually run out of, so price the plan on that column.
Pros
- ✓Base at $39/month is a low entry price for a cold email platform
- ✓Annual billing takes 17% off every tier
- ✓Unlimited Smart and Prime genuinely remove the contact ceiling
- ✓Send, contact and verification allowances are published per plan
Cons
- ✗'Unlimited' names a plan whose sends are explicitly capped
- ✗Base allows 6,000 sends a month — roughly 200 a day across all mailboxes
- ✗Whitelabeling is $29/month per client workspace on top of the plan
- ✗The number of email accounts or mailboxes included is not stated on the pricing page
Read the sends column, not the plan name
Four plans, and the naming does real work:
| Base | Pro | Unlimited Smart | Unlimited Prime | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly | $39 | $94 | $174 | $379 |
| Annual (17% off) | $32.50/mo | $78.30/mo | $144.50/mo | $314.60/mo |
| Contacts | 2,000 | 30,000 | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Email sends/month | 6,000 | 90,000 | 150,000 | 500,000 |
| Verified emails | 2,000 | 30,000 | 50,000 | 170,000 |
The word "Unlimited" attaches to the contact count. The sends — the thing a cold email campaign consumes — are capped on every plan without exception.
That is not hidden; the numbers are printed on the same page. But a plan called Unlimited Smart sets an expectation the send column then corrects, and the correction is the one that determines whether the plan fits.
What 6,000 sends a month actually means
Base's $39 looks like the obvious starting point. Convert it into daily reality:
6,000 sends ÷ 30 days = 200 emails a day, across all your mailboxes combined.
Cold email works on volume and sequencing. A three-touch sequence means each prospect consumes three sends, so 6,000 sends is 2,000 prospects a month fully sequenced — which is also exactly Base's contact limit. The two numbers are matched deliberately, and that is coherent design: Base is sized for one small campaign at a time.
What it is not sized for is testing. Running two subject-line variants against a list, then a follow-up sequence to non-openers, exhausts the month quickly. If you plan to iterate rather than send once, Base is a single-campaign plan, not a starter plan.
Pro at $94 gives 90,000 sends — a 15× jump for 2.4× the price, and the point where the platform starts behaving like infrastructure rather than a trial.
Verified emails are a third, separate number
Each plan lists a verification allowance that does not match the send allowance:
- Base: 2,000 verified of 6,000 sends
- Pro: 30,000 of 90,000
- Unlimited Smart: 50,000 of 150,000
- Unlimited Prime: 170,000 of 500,000
Verification is what keeps a list from burning your sending domain, and on the top three plans the verification budget covers about a third of the sends.
That ratio is defensible — you verify a contact once and email them three times — but it means the allowances are only in balance if your sequences are around three touches. Run longer sequences and verification is ample; run single-touch blasts to fresh lists and verification, not sends, is your ceiling. The pricing page states verification credits can be purchased separately, without stating the price.
The add-ons sit outside the plan
Three published add-ons, none included:
- Whitelabeling — $29/month per client workspace
- SmartServers — $39/server/month
- Email verification — priced by credits purchased (amount not stated)
Whitelabeling is the one to model carefully, because it is priced per client workspace rather than per account. An agency running the platform under its own brand for eight clients is $232/month in whitelabeling alone, on top of a plan.
At that point Unlimited Prime at $379 is worth a second look: it lists 3 SmartServers with OAuth and 3+ client workspaces included, which absorbs some of what the add-ons would otherwise cost separately. Whether it comes out ahead depends entirely on client count — but the comparison is plan-plus-add-ons versus plan-plus-add-ons, and never the two headline prices.
The claim this review used to make
A previous version of this page stated that unlimited mailboxes were included on all plans.
Smartlead's pricing page does not state a mailbox or email-account allowance at all — not on any tier. That claim has been removed rather than corrected downward, because the honest position is that the number is unpublished.
If mailbox count is central to your setup — and for cold outreach at volume it usually is, since sends are spread across many sending addresses to protect deliverability — get it confirmed in writing before subscribing. It is the one figure this pricing page does not give you, and it is not a small one.
Deliverability is the real product
Everything above is arithmetic. The thing that decides whether a cold email tool is worth anything is whether the mail arrives, and no pricing page can tell you that.
Smartlead's warmup pooling — Premium on Unlimited Smart, with Ultrapremium eligibility, and SmartServers with OAuth on Prime — is aimed squarely at this, and it is the reason to pay for the upper tiers rather than the send counts. It is also unverifiable from the outside. Deliverability depends on your domains, your list quality and your copy at least as much as the platform, and any review claiming to have measured a vendor's inbox rate in general is describing one setup, not a property of the tool.
Who should not buy this
If you have not confirmed cold email is legal and appropriate for your market and list, the tooling question is premature. Consent rules differ sharply by jurisdiction, and a platform that sends efficiently makes a compliance mistake efficient too.
If your list is a few hundred people you already know, this is the wrong shape of tool. Sequencing infrastructure exists to solve volume, and at small scale it adds machinery to a job that a normal email client and a spreadsheet do without a subscription.
The honest summary
Base at $39 is a real entry price and the allowances are all published, which is more transparency than parts of this category offer.
But price it on the sends column and treat the plan names as marketing. 6,000 sends is 200 a day; "Unlimited" means contacts; whitelabeling is $29 per client workspace on top; and the mailbox count — the number that matters most for deliverability — is not on the page at all.
All plan prices, the 17% annual discount, contact, send and verification allowances, whitelabeling at $29/month per client workspace, SmartServers at $39/server/month, and the warmup pool tiers are from Smartlead's own pricing page, checked 10 August 2026. Email account and mailbox allowances are not stated on that page.
A different approach: Bonfire Terminal
Smartlead runs in the vendor's cloud — your data is processed on their servers, and you pay every month for as long as you use it. Bonfire Terminal is a different kind of tool: an AI agent that runs as a desktop app on your own machine. No cloud, no API credits, and nothing you type leaves your computer.
To be straight with you: it is not a drop-in replacement for Smartlead, and we are not going to pretend it is — they do different jobs. It is worth a look if the cloud-subscription model itself is what you want out of, or if you want an AI agent that works privately and offline. If Smartlead is doing its job for you, keep it.
| Feature | Smartlead | Bonfire Terminal |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Cloud marketing-automation SaaS | Local AI desktop agent (Rust), bundled with affiliate-marketing training |
| Where it runs | Vendor’s cloud — your data is processed on their servers | On your own machine — no cloud, no API credits, no data leaves your computer |
| What you pay | From $39/month | $27 entry (AI Marketers Club) — includes 21-day Bonfire Terminal access |
| Guarantee | See the vendor’s own terms | 60-day money-back guarantee |
The way in is the AI Marketers Club — $27 one-time, which includes 21 days of Bonfire Terminal access. Keeping it after that is a separate purchase, and the vendor's FAQ states Bonfire Terminal starts at $5,000. We earn a commission if you join, at no extra cost to you — which is exactly why our criticisms of Smartlead are printed in full above, why we have told you what this is not, and why the $5,000 is in this sentence rather than left for you to discover later.
Compare Smartlead head-to-head:
All tool comparisons →More AI Marketing Automation reviews:
- Lemlist's Plan Price Is Not the Price — Finding Each Lead Costs Credits On Top →
- Mailshake Gives Each User One Mail Account — So Sending Wider Means Buying Seats →
- Woodpecker Has No Plans — You Pay $7 per 100 Prospects You Contact →
- AdCreative.ai Review →
- Apollo.io Review →
- Copy.ai Review →