Lemlist vs Smartlead
Lemlist's Plan Price Is Not the Price — Finding Each Lead Costs Credits On Top
Smartlead's 'Unlimited' Plans Cap Your Sends — Unlimited Is the Contacts, Not the Emails
The short answer
- Entry price
- Lemlist starts at $55/month; Smartlead starts at $39/month. Smartlead is $16 a month cheaper to start. Entry price is not total cost — check the limit that binds first on each.
- Our rating
- 3.8/5 against 3.9/5. That gap is inside our own margin, so treat these as rated level and decide on the specifics below rather than on the score.
Lemlist
from $55/monthEmail is $69/month, or $55 on annual. Multichannel is $109, or $87 — and that one is per user. Then finding the people you email is a separate credit currency: 5 credits per verified email, 20 per phone number, and up to 400 for a single intent signal.
What works
- ✓ The Email plan states unlimited users, which is rare at this price
- ✓ Multichannel states unlimited emails and messages per month
- ✓ Credit costs are published per action rather than hidden in a quote
- ✓ Annual billing takes roughly 20% off both named plans
What does not
- ✗ Multichannel is priced per user, so team cost scales linearly
- ✗ Lead data is a separate spend: 1,000 credits buys only 200 verified emails
- ✗ A LinkedIn-engagement intent signal costs from 400 credits — about $4 each
- ✗ Lead-credit inclusions per plan are not stated on the pricing page
Smartlead
from $39/monthTwo of the four plans are named Unlimited. What is unlimited on them is the contact count — the email sends are capped at 150,000 and 500,000 a month respectively. For cold outreach, sends are the resource you actually run out of, so price the plan on that column.
What works
- ✓ Base at $39/month is a low entry price for a cold email platform
- ✓ Annual billing takes 17% off every tier
- ✓ Unlimited Smart and Prime genuinely remove the contact ceiling
- ✓ Send, contact and verification allowances are published per plan
What does not
- ✗ 'Unlimited' names a plan whose sends are explicitly capped
- ✗ Base allows 6,000 sends a month — roughly 200 a day across all mailboxes
- ✗ Whitelabeling is $29/month per client workspace on top of the plan
- ✗ The number of email accounts or mailboxes included is not stated on the pricing page
Who should pick which
Pick Lemlist if this is the thing that matters most to you:
The Email plan states unlimited users, which is rare at this price.
What most often rules it out: Multichannel is priced per user, so team cost scales linearly.
Pick Smartlead if this is the thing that matters most to you:
Base at $39/month is a low entry price for a cold email platform.
What most often rules it out: 'Unlimited' names a plan whose sends are explicitly capped.
Figures come from our review of each product, checked against the vendor's own pricing page. We do not convert currencies or rank prices quoted on different billing periods — where that applies it is said above, not quietly resolved.
A third option, and what it is not
Bonfire Terminal is an AI agent that runs as a desktop app on your own machine — no cloud, nothing you type leaves your computer. It does not do what Lemlist or Smartlead do, and we will not pretend it does. If either is doing its job for you, keep it.
What the $27 actually gets you→The way in is the AI Marketers Club — $27 one-time, including 21 days of access. Keeping it after that is a separate purchase; the vendor's FAQ states Bonfire Terminal starts at $5,000. We earn a commission at no extra cost to you, which is why both tools' drawbacks are printed in full above and the $5,000 is here rather than left for you to find later.