Majestic Prices in Seven Kinds of Unit — You Cannot Estimate Your Usage Before Buying

By Published: August 10, 2026Updated: August 10, 2026

How this review was built. Pricing, tiers and limits come from the vendor's own pricing page and documentation as of the date above — and where a figure is the vendor's claim, we say so rather than repeat it as fact. Some links on this page are affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, which is why the drawbacks are printed in full on this page rather than left for you to find later. About the rating. It is our own editorial judgement on a 1–5 scale — not the output of a formula, and not the result of hands-on testing. Treat it as one publication's opinion and read the drawbacks, which are the useful part. See our full methodology & disclosure →

Majestic Prices in Seven Kinds of Unit — You Cannot Estimate Your Usage Before Buying — honest review
3.7/5

Starting at $49.99/month

Visit Site →

Verdict: Lite is $49.99, Pro is $99.99, API is $399.99. Each plan is defined by seven separate unit allowances — analysis units, retrieval units, index item units, report units, data rows, analysis depth and users — and none of them map to anything you can count before you have used the tool.

Pros

  • Lite at $49.99 is among the cheapest entry points for dedicated backlink data
  • Annual billing cuts the monthly equivalent to $41.67 on Lite and $83.33 on Pro
  • Pro multiplies the Lite allowances 20-fold for double the price
  • Every allowance is published per plan rather than hidden behind a sales call

Cons

  • Seven different unit types, none of which mean anything until you have spent them
  • Lite and Pro both include exactly 1 user — the 5-user plan costs $399.99
  • The cost of additional seats is not stated on the pricing page
  • Lite's 5,000 analysis depth is a hard ceiling on large-site link analysis

Three prices, and then seven variables

The headline is simple enough:

LITEPROAPI
Monthly$49.99$99.99$399.99
Annual$499.99/yr$999.99/yr$3,999.90/yr
Monthly equivalent on annual$41.67$83.33$333.33

Annual billing saves about 17% on every tier — two months free, in effect, which is standard and fair.

Then the plans differentiate on seven separate allowances at once, and this is where the tool becomes hard to buy.

AllowanceLITEPROAPI
Users115
Analysis units1 million20 million100 million
Retrieval units200,0005 million20 million
Index item units5,000125,000500,000
Site Explorer data rows5,00030,00050,000
Analysis depth5,00030,00050,000
Report units60300950

The estimation problem

Ask yourself how many analysis units a competitor backlink audit consumes.

You cannot answer it. Neither can anyone who has not already run one on this specific tool, because the unit is internal to Majestic and has no equivalent anywhere else. The same goes for retrieval units, index item units and report units — four distinct currencies, each metering a different action, none of them convertible to "how many sites can I look at this month."

This is the real cost of the pricing model, and it is not the dollar figure. With a seat-priced tool you know what you are buying before you pay. Here the honest answer to "which plan do I need" is start on Lite and find out, which means the first month is a paid experiment in reading your own usage meters.

To be fair to Majestic: the allowances are all published, per plan, on the public pricing page. Plenty of competitors put this behind a demo call. The information is there — it just is not information you can act on in advance.

Pro is not twice Lite, it is twenty times

Look at the multipliers rather than the prices.

Doubling the spend from $49.99 to $99.99 buys 20× the analysis units (1m → 20m), 25× the retrieval units (200k → 5m), 25× the index item units (5,000 → 125,000), and 6× the data rows and analysis depth.

That is a very steep curve, and it tells you something about how the tiers are meant to be read: Lite is not a small version of Pro, it is a sampler. A 20:1 jump for a 2:1 price is not how a vendor prices two plans it expects the same person to choose between. It is how a vendor prices a taster and a working tool.

If you are doing backlink analysis as a regular part of the job rather than occasionally, the pricing structure is quietly telling you Lite will not hold.

The seat count is the sharp edge

Lite includes 1 user. Pro also includes 1 user. Five users appear only on API at $399.99 a month.

So a three-person SEO team has no middle option. Pro's allowances are ample for three people's work, but the licence covers one login, and the next plan up costs four times as much and is built for programmatic access rather than more humans at a dashboard.

The pricing page does not state the cost of adding a seat to Lite or Pro. That is the single most consequential missing number on the page for any team — ask before you buy, because the published ladder has no rung between one person and $399.99.

Analysis depth is the one to check first

Of the seven allowances, the one most likely to stop you mid-task is analysis depth: 5,000 on Lite.

Link analysis on a large or well-established domain reaches into hundreds of thousands of referring URLs. A 5,000 ceiling means you are looking at a slice, and the slice is chosen by the tool, not by you. For a small local competitor that is the whole picture; for a national publisher it is a sample you may mistake for a total.

A partial dataset that looks complete is worse than an obvious limit, because nothing in the interface tells you the answer would have changed with more depth. If you are analysing large sites, this is the number that decides your plan, ahead of price.

What it is not

This is a backlink and link-intelligence tool. It is not a keyword research suite, a rank tracker or a content platform, and it does not pretend to be.

An earlier version of this review asserted that its data was less fresh than a named competitor's. That claim was never sourced and has been removed — index freshness comparisons require running both indexes against a known set of new links, which is a real test nobody here has run. What is on the record is the allowance structure above, and that is enough to decide by.

Who should not buy this

If you need one tool for the whole job, this is not it, and the $49.99 will sit on top of another subscription rather than replacing anything.

If you are not sure why you need backlink data, start with what you already have — Search Console reports links to your site for free. Majestic answers questions about other people's links, which is competitive research, and that is a different activity from improving your own site.

The honest summary

The index and the link metrics are why people pay for this, and Lite at $49.99 is a genuinely low entry price for dedicated link data.

But you cannot size your plan in advance, and there is no seat option between one user and $399.99 a month. Budget for a first month spent learning what your own usage looks like, check the analysis-depth ceiling against the size of sites you actually study, and get a per-seat price in writing before putting a team on it.

All plan prices, annual equivalents, user counts and the seven per-plan allowances are from Majestic's own plans-and-pricing page, checked 10 August 2026. The cost of additional seats is not stated on that page.

Sponsored · affiliate link

A different approach: Bonfire Terminal

Majestic runs in the vendor's cloud — your data is processed on their servers, and you pay every month for as long as you use it. Bonfire Terminal is a different kind of tool: an AI agent that runs as a desktop app on your own machine. No cloud, no API credits, and nothing you type leaves your computer.

To be straight with you: it is not a drop-in replacement for Majestic, and we are not going to pretend it is — they do different jobs. It is worth a look if the cloud-subscription model itself is what you want out of, or if you want an AI agent that works privately and offline. If Majestic is doing its job for you, keep it.

FeatureMajesticBonfire Terminal
What it isCloud SEO / content SaaSLocal AI desktop agent (Rust), bundled with affiliate-marketing training
Where it runsVendor’s cloud — your data is processed on their serversOn your own machine — no cloud, no API credits, no data leaves your computer
What you payFrom $49.99/month$27 entry (AI Marketers Club) — includes 21-day Bonfire Terminal access
GuaranteeSee the vendor’s own terms60-day money-back guarantee
See what Bonfire Terminal is

The way in is the AI Marketers Club — $27 one-time, which includes 21 days of Bonfire Terminal access. Keeping it after that is a separate purchase, and the vendor's FAQ states Bonfire Terminal starts at $5,000. We earn a commission if you join, at no extra cost to you — which is exactly why our criticisms of Majestic are printed in full above, why we have told you what this is not, and why the $5,000 is in this sentence rather than left for you to discover later.