Close's Solo Plan Costs $19 Monthly and $9 Annually — The Steepest Discount on the Page
How this review was built. Pricing, tiers and limits come from the vendor's own pricing page and documentation as of the date above — and where a figure is the vendor's claim, we say so rather than repeat it as fact. Some links on this page are affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, which is why the drawbacks are printed in full on this page rather than left for you to find later. About the rating. It is our own editorial judgement on a 1–5 scale — not the output of a formula, and not the result of hands-on testing. Treat it as one publication's opinion and read the drawbacks, which are the useful part. See our full methodology & disclosure →

Starting at $19/month
Verdict: Solo is $19 per user monthly but $9 annually — a 53% cut, far steeper than the 7% between Scale's two rates. Solo is also capped at 1 user and 10,000 leads. Every plan is per user, and calling is billed on usage at roughly $0.02 a minute on top.
Pros
- ✓Solo at $9/user on annual billing is a genuinely low entry price
- ✓Essentials and above remove both the user cap and the lead cap
- ✓AI credits are included on every tier, from 500 to 2,000 a month
- ✓Calling costs are stated openly at around $0.02/minute
Cons
- ✗Solo is limited to 1 user and 10,000 leads
- ✗The annual discount shrinks sharply as you go up: 53% on Solo, 7% on Scale
- ✗Calling and phone numbers are usage-billed on top of every plan
- ✗Growth at $109/user monthly is where most sales teams actually land
The discount is not uniform, and that is the story
Every plan here is per user, and every plan has two prices. The gap between them is what repays attention:
| Plan | Monthly | Annual | Discount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo | $19 | $9 | 53% |
| Essentials | $49 | $35 | 29% |
| Growth | $109 | $99 | 9% |
| Scale | $149 | $139 | 7% |
Solo's annual rate is less than half its monthly rate. No other tier comes close, and the discount decays steadily as you climb.
That shape is deliberate and worth reading plainly: the cheapest tier is priced to be bought for a year, and the expensive ones are priced so that monthly flexibility costs you almost nothing. If you are a solo operator paying monthly, you are paying a 111% premium over the annual rate — the largest avoidable gap on the page.
Solo has two ceilings, and one of them is hard
Solo is limited to 1 user and limited to 10,000 leads.
The user cap is the one that ends it. There is no such thing as adding a second person to Solo — the next step is Essentials, and for two people that is 2 × $35 = $70/month annually, against Solo's $9. Hiring your first colleague is a 7.8× increase in CRM cost.
Every tier above Solo states unlimited users and unlimited leads, so the ceiling exists exactly once, at the bottom. Anyone who expects to add a person within the year should price Essentials from the start rather than discovering the cliff mid-commitment.
Calling is a separate meter
Close's distinguishing feature is built-in calling and SMS, and the pricing page is upfront that it is usage-billed:
- Outbound calls: around $0.02 per minute
- Phone numbers: from about $1 per month
- Lines: from $1 per line per month
A rep making 60 calls a day at three minutes each is 180 minutes — roughly $3.60 a day, about $79 a month per rep in call charges alone, on top of the seat.
That is not a hidden fee and the rate is unremarkable for the industry. But it means a five-person calling team on Growth is (5 × $99) + call usage, and the usage line can approach the licence line. A phone-first CRM has a phone bill; budget it as one.
An earlier version of this review called the calling "the best in the category." That claim was never sourced and has been removed — ranking call quality against competitors requires side-by-side testing across networks that nobody here has performed. What is verifiable is the price of it, which is above.
AI credits scale with the tier, modestly
Every plan includes monthly AI credits: 500 on Solo, 1,000 on Essentials, 1,500 on Growth, 2,000 on Scale.
Notice how flat that is against the price. Scale costs 15× Solo's annual rate and includes 4× the credits. AI allowance is clearly not what the upper tiers are selling, so if AI features are your reason for upgrading, the credit column says you will be buying more of them separately.
The page does not state the cost of additional credits. Ask, if that is central to your workflow.
Where teams actually land
Solo at $9 is the number that circulates, and it applies to exactly one person with under 10,000 leads.
The realistic figures:
- Two people, annual: Essentials, $70/month
- Five-person sales team, annual: Growth, $495/month plus call usage
- Five people, monthly billing: Growth, $545/month plus call usage
$5,940 a year for a five-person team before a single call is billed is the honest comparison figure, not $9.
Who should not buy this
If your sales process is not phone-led, you are paying for the feature that defines this product and using the parts that other CRMs also have. The calling engine is the reason to be here.
If you have no repeatable pipeline yet, a CRM built for high-volume outbound is machinery without a process to run. Close rewards teams who already know their sequence and want to run it faster.
The honest summary
Solo at $9 a year-committed is a legitimately cheap entry, and the tier structure above it removes limits rather than adding gates.
Read the two ceilings and the second meter. Solo is one user and 10,000 leads; adding a colleague is 7.8× the cost; the annual discount collapses from 53% to 7% as you climb; and calling is billed on usage at roughly $0.02 a minute on top of every seat.
All plan names, monthly and annual per-user prices, the Solo 1-user and 10,000-lead limits, unlimited users and leads on higher tiers, monthly AI credit allowances, and the stated calling costs (around $0.02/minute, phone numbers from about $1/month, lines from $1/line/month) are from Close's own pricing page, checked 11 August 2026. A specific SMS rate and the cost of additional AI credits are not stated.
A different approach: Bonfire Terminal
Close runs in the vendor's cloud — your data is processed on their servers, and you pay every month for as long as you use it. Bonfire Terminal is a different kind of tool: an AI agent that runs as a desktop app on your own machine. No cloud, no API credits, and nothing you type leaves your computer.
To be straight with you: it is not a drop-in replacement for Close, and we are not going to pretend it is — they do different jobs. It is worth a look if the cloud-subscription model itself is what you want out of, or if you want an AI agent that works privately and offline. If Close is doing its job for you, keep it.
| Feature | Close | Bonfire Terminal |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Cloud CRM / sales SaaS | Local AI desktop agent (Rust), bundled with affiliate-marketing training |
| Where it runs | Vendor’s cloud — your data is processed on their servers | On your own machine — no cloud, no API credits, no data leaves your computer |
| What you pay | From $19/month | $27 entry (AI Marketers Club) — includes 21-day Bonfire Terminal access |
| Guarantee | See the vendor’s own terms | 60-day money-back guarantee |
The way in is the AI Marketers Club — $27 one-time, which includes 21 days of Bonfire Terminal access. Keeping it after that is a separate purchase, and the vendor's FAQ states Bonfire Terminal starts at $5,000. We earn a commission if you join, at no extra cost to you — which is exactly why our criticisms of Close are printed in full above, why we have told you what this is not, and why the $5,000 is in this sentence rather than left for you to discover later.
Compare Close head-to-head:
- Close vs GoHighLevel →
- Close vs HubSpot CRM →
- Close vs Less Annoying CRM →
- Close vs EngageBay →
- Close vs Copper →
More CRM & Sales Automation reviews:
- Copper's Basic Plan Holds 2,500 Contacts But Only 25 Companies →
- EngageBay's Free Plan Allows 15 Users — Its $14.99 Paid Plan Allows 500 Contacts →
- Insightly's AppConnect Carries a $3,000 Setup Fee — Printed on the Pricing Page →
- Nimble Sells One Plan and Five Add-Ons — The Second List Is the One to Read →
- Streak's Mail Merge Is 1,500 a Day on Every Tier — Including the $129 One →
- GoHighLevel Pricing →