Copper's Basic Plan Holds 2,500 Contacts But Only 25 Companies
How this review was built. Pricing, tiers and limits come from the vendor's own pricing page and documentation as of the date above — and where a figure is the vendor's claim, we say so rather than repeat it as fact. Some links on this page are affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, which is why the drawbacks are printed in full on this page rather than left for you to find later. About the rating. It is our own editorial judgement on a 1–5 scale — not the output of a formula, and not the result of hands-on testing. Treat it as one publication's opinion and read the drawbacks, which are the useful part. See our full methodology & disclosure →

Starting at $23/month
Verdict: Basic is $29 a seat monthly or $23 annually, and it caps at 2,500 contacts — but just 25 companies. Professional lifts contacts to 15,000 and companies only to 50. For B2B work the company limit runs out long before the contact limit does.
Pros
- ✓Annual billing is a real cut: Business drops from $134 to $99 a seat
- ✓Business removes both the contact and the company ceiling entirely
- ✓Contact allowances are published per tier rather than quoted
- ✓Basic at $23 a seat annually is a low entry for a full CRM
Cons
- ✗Basic allows only 25 companies; Professional only 50
- ✗The company limit is far tighter than the contact limit on both lower tiers
- ✗Every plan is per seat, so cost scales with headcount
- ✗Minimum seat counts, storage limits and email-send limits are not stated
Two limits, and the small one decides
Copper publishes contact and company allowances separately, and almost everyone reads only the first:
| Basic | Professional | Business | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly | $29/seat | $69/seat | $134/seat |
| Annual | $23/seat | $59/seat | $99/seat |
| Contacts | 2,500 | 15,000 | Unlimited |
| Companies | 25 | 50 | Unlimited |
Look at the bottom row. Basic allows 25 companies. Professional allows 50.
In a B2B pipeline a "company" is an account — an organisation you are selling to. Fifty accounts is a small book. A single salesperson working mid-market territory will pass 50 companies inside a quarter, while still nowhere near Professional's 15,000 contacts.
So the ceiling that ends your plan is almost certainly the company count, not the contact count — and it is the number nobody quotes, because contacts are what pricing pages lead with.
Do the ratio
The two allowances imply a contacts-per-company ratio, and it is worth checking against your own reality:
- Basic: 2,500 contacts ÷ 25 companies = 100 contacts per company
- Professional: 15,000 ÷ 50 = 300 contacts per company
A hundred contacts at one company is enterprise-account territory. If you sell to small businesses — one or two people per account — you will hold 50 companies and perhaps 100 contacts, having consumed 100% of your company allowance and 4% of your contact allowance.
That mismatch is the single most useful thing to know before choosing a tier here. If your accounts are small and numerous, price Business, because the middle tier's ceiling is not where its headline suggests.
The annual discount is genuinely large at the top
The page advertises "up to 26% off" for annual billing, and unusually the biggest saving is on the most expensive plan:
| Plan | Monthly | Annual | Saving |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $29 | $23 | 21% |
| Professional | $69 | $59 | 14% |
| Business | $134 | $99 | 26% |
Business saves $35 a seat a month, $420 a year per person. A five-person team on Business is $5,940 annually rather than $8,040 — a $2,100 difference for committing to a year.
That is the largest absolute saving on the page and it sits on the tier most likely to be bought by a team that already knows it is staying. Worth taking if you are one of them.
Business is the only tier without ceilings
Unlimited contacts and unlimited companies arrive together at $99 a seat annually.
That is a clean design — one tier where you stop counting — but it means the step up is not incremental. You go from 50 companies to no limit, and from $59 to $99 a seat. There is no middle option for a team that needs 200 companies and nothing else.
For a five-person team that is $200 a month more to remove a limit they may exceed by a small margin. Annoying, and worth modelling honestly before assuming Professional will hold.
What the page does not tell you
Three things are not stated: minimum seat counts, storage limits, and email-send limits.
The seat minimum matters most. Some CRMs in this bracket require three or five seats, which changes a solo operator's real entry price from $23 to $69 or $115 a month. Ask before assuming you can buy one seat.
Storage and send limits are the sort of thing that surfaces later, and their absence from the pricing page means they cannot be compared from the outside.
Who should not buy this
If you are not on Google Workspace, the main architectural reason to choose Copper is its Gmail-native design. Outside that ecosystem you are comparing it on general CRM merits against a wide field.
If you sell to many small accounts, read the company limits above again before starting on Basic or Professional. The tier you need is probably Business, and the honest comparison price is $99 a seat, not $23.
The honest summary
The pricing is transparent, the annual discount is real, and $23 a seat is a genuinely low entry.
But check the company limit, not the contact limit. 25 companies on Basic and 50 on Professional are the numbers that will actually stop you, and for most B2B teams they arrive first — which makes Business at $99 a seat the tier to price against alternatives.
All plan names, monthly and annual per-seat prices, contact limits, company limits and the "up to 26% off" annual claim are from Copper's own pricing page, checked 11 August 2026. Minimum seat counts, storage limits and email-send limits are not stated on that page.
A different approach: Bonfire Terminal
Copper runs in the vendor's cloud — your data is processed on their servers, and you pay every month for as long as you use it. Bonfire Terminal is a different kind of tool: an AI agent that runs as a desktop app on your own machine. No cloud, no API credits, and nothing you type leaves your computer.
To be straight with you: it is not a drop-in replacement for Copper, and we are not going to pretend it is — they do different jobs. It is worth a look if the cloud-subscription model itself is what you want out of, or if you want an AI agent that works privately and offline. If Copper is doing its job for you, keep it.
| Feature | Copper | Bonfire Terminal |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Cloud CRM / sales SaaS | Local AI desktop agent (Rust), bundled with affiliate-marketing training |
| Where it runs | Vendor’s cloud — your data is processed on their servers | On your own machine — no cloud, no API credits, no data leaves your computer |
| What you pay | From $23/month | $27 entry (AI Marketers Club) — includes 21-day Bonfire Terminal access |
| Guarantee | See the vendor’s own terms | 60-day money-back guarantee |
The way in is the AI Marketers Club — $27 one-time, which includes 21 days of Bonfire Terminal access. Keeping it after that is a separate purchase, and the vendor's FAQ states Bonfire Terminal starts at $5,000. We earn a commission if you join, at no extra cost to you — which is exactly why our criticisms of Copper are printed in full above, why we have told you what this is not, and why the $5,000 is in this sentence rather than left for you to discover later.
More CRM & Sales Automation reviews:
- Close's Solo Plan Costs $19 Monthly and $9 Annually — The Steepest Discount on the Page →
- EngageBay's Free Plan Allows 15 Users — Its $14.99 Paid Plan Allows 500 Contacts →
- Insightly's AppConnect Carries a $3,000 Setup Fee — Printed on the Pricing Page →
- Nimble Sells One Plan and Five Add-Ons — The Second List Is the One to Read →
- Streak's Mail Merge Is 1,500 a Day on Every Tier — Including the $129 One →
- GoHighLevel Pricing →