Keap Costs $299 a Month and You Cannot See the Whole Bill Before You Call
How this review was built. Pricing, tiers and limits come from the vendor's own pricing page and documentation as of the date above — and where a figure is the vendor's claim, we say so rather than repeat it as fact. Some links on this page are affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, which is why the drawbacks are printed in full on this page rather than left for you to find later. About the rating. It is our own editorial judgement on a 1–5 scale — not the output of a formula, and not the result of hands-on testing. Treat it as one publication's opinion and read the drawbacks, which are the useful part. See our full methodology & disclosure →

Starting at $299/month
Verdict: One plan, starting at $299/month with 2 user licences. Extra users are $39/month each, contact pricing is tiered and not shown, and an implementation package is required with no price published. Three of the four lines on your invoice need a sales call.
Pros
- ✓One plan with the whole platform — no feature hunting across tiers
- ✓CRM, email, automation and payments in a single system built for service businesses
- ✓Text marketing included at the first tier: 500 messages and 100 voice minutes
- ✓Annual billing is stated plainly at $2,988/year
Cons
- ✗$299/month is the starting price, and it includes only 2 user licences
- ✗Each additional user is $39/month on top
- ✗The contact allowance at $299 is not stated on the pricing page — you have to ask
- ✗Implementation services are required and no price for them is published
The published price and the four things it does not settle
Keap does something most of its competitors do not: it offers one plan, not a tier ladder. The whole platform, one price.
That price is $299/month, billed at $2,988/year.
Then look at what you still cannot work out from the pricing page:
| Line on your invoice | Published? |
|---|---|
| Base platform | ✅ $299/mo |
| Extra user licences | ✅ $39/mo each (2 included) |
| Contacts above the included allowance | ❌ "tiers" — no figures shown |
| Required implementation package | ❌ no price at all |
Two of four are visible. For a product whose main promise is simplicity, that is the thing to weigh.
The user count is smaller than it sounds
$299/month includes 2 user licences. Additional users are $39/month each.
For a service business — the market Keap explicitly targets — two seats is an owner and one other person. A five-person operation is:
``` $299 base (2 users) $117 3 extra users x $39 ---- $416/month = $4,992/year ```
Before contacts. Before implementation.
Count your seats before you compare Keap to anything else. The $299 headline and a five-person team are $117/month apart, and per-seat pricing is the line that quietly scales with your success.
The contact allowance you have to ask for
Keap's pricing page does not state how many contacts $299 includes. It says additional contact pricing is tiered, with the cost per contact falling as you add larger quantities — and directs you to a calculator or a chat.
Volume discounting is normal and reasonable. The issue is sequencing: you cannot compare Keap's total cost to a competitor's without starting a sales conversation, while nearly every alternative publishes a contacts-to-price table you can read in thirty seconds.
That is a deliberate choice by Keap, and it is a real cost to you in time and in negotiating position. Go in with your contact count already written down.
The required implementation package
This is the part most comparisons miss entirely. Keap states that implementation services are required, and its FAQ explains the reasoning: after twenty years of helping small businesses implement software, the ones that succeed are those with strategy, support and services.
That reasoning is honest and, in fairness, probably correct — complex automation platforms do fail from bad setup more than bad software.
But no price for it is published, and it is not optional. So the true first-year cost of Keap is:
``` $2,988 annual platform (2 users) + $468/yr per extra user + contacts, tiered, unpublished + mandatory implementation, unpublished ```
Get the implementation quote in writing before you sign anything. It is the largest unknown in the arithmetic and the only one with no published anchor at all.
Where the money is actually going
Keap is not overpriced for what it is. It is a genuine all-in-one for service businesses — CRM, email, automation and payments in one system — and it has been doing that for two decades. The text marketing tier at the base plan includes 500 messages and 100 voice minutes, with upgrades from $24/month.
The question is whether you need a platform that assumes it must be professionally implemented. If your automation is a handful of follow-up sequences, you are buying a category above your problem.
What to compare it against
If the appeal is one system for a service business, [GoHighLevel starts at $97/month with unlimited contacts and unlimited users](/reviews/gohighlevel-review) — the inverse trade to Keap's, since its limit is sub-accounts rather than seats, and its telecom and AI usage bills on top.
If the appeal is simply selling something without stitching five tools together, [Systeme.io's free plan carries 2,000 contacts, 3 sales funnels, a course and an affiliate program](/reviews/systeme-io-review), with a paid entry at $17/month. That is a smaller product than Keap and it is honest about being one — but the gap between $0 and $299 buys a lot of patience while you find out what you actually need.
The honest summary
Keap's single-plan structure is a real virtue and its target market is well chosen. Service businesses that need CRM, email and payments in one place are underserved, and this is a serious product for them.
The pricing is where it loses. $299 covers two users; the third costs $39; the contact allowance is unpublished; and a required implementation package has no price on it anywhere. You cannot know what Keap costs without a sales call, and that is the finding. If a competitor lets you work out your total in a minute from a public page, weigh that as a feature.
Base price, annual figure, included user licences, additional user cost, tiered contact pricing, text marketing tier and the required implementation statement are all from Keap's own pricing page and FAQ, checked 10 August 2026.
A different approach: Bonfire Terminal
Keap runs in the vendor's cloud — your data is processed on their servers, and you pay every month for as long as you use it. Bonfire Terminal is a different kind of tool: an AI agent that runs as a desktop app on your own machine. No cloud, no API credits, and nothing you type leaves your computer.
To be straight with you: it is not a drop-in replacement for Keap, and we are not going to pretend it is — they do different jobs. It is worth a look if the cloud-subscription model itself is what you want out of, or if you want an AI agent that works privately and offline. If Keap is doing its job for you, keep it.
| Feature | Keap | Bonfire Terminal |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Cloud CRM / sales SaaS | Local AI desktop agent (Rust), bundled with affiliate-marketing training |
| Where it runs | Vendor’s cloud — your data is processed on their servers | On your own machine — no cloud, no API credits, no data leaves your computer |
| What you pay | From $299/month | $27 entry (AI Marketers Club) — includes 21-day Bonfire Terminal access |
| Guarantee | See the vendor’s own terms | 60-day money-back guarantee |
The way in is the AI Marketers Club — $27 one-time, which includes 21 days of Bonfire Terminal access. Keeping it after that is a separate purchase, and the vendor's FAQ states Bonfire Terminal starts at $5,000. We earn a commission if you join, at no extra cost to you — which is exactly why our criticisms of Keap are printed in full above, why we have told you what this is not, and why the $5,000 is in this sentence rather than left for you to discover later.
More CRM & Sales Automation reviews:
- Close's Solo Plan Costs $19 Monthly and $9 Annually — The Steepest Discount on the Page →
- Copper's Basic Plan Holds 2,500 Contacts But Only 25 Companies →
- EngageBay's Free Plan Allows 15 Users — Its $14.99 Paid Plan Allows 500 Contacts →
- Insightly's AppConnect Carries a $3,000 Setup Fee — Printed on the Pricing Page →
- Nimble Sells One Plan and Five Add-Ons — The Second List Is the One to Read →
- Streak's Mail Merge Is 1,500 a Day on Every Tier — Including the $129 One →